Little Things

So I started this blog with the hope that it would encourage me to write more often…because I need to. So now, instead of thinking “I should write” and going about my day not doing it, I think, “I should write” then go about my day feeling guilty for not doing it.  Mission accomplished.

I have several things I started writing, but wasn’t sure exactly where to go with it, or wasn’t sure how vulnerable I really wanted to be. I will finish them. Soon. I hope. But for today I thought I would throw out some random small thoughts. And ask you some random questions.

1. I hate snakes. We killed one in the yard today. I dreamt about snakes during my afternoon nap.

Is there anything worse to dream about than snakes?

2. I love Fall. A week into October, here in the Central valley, and the weather is finally starting to agree with the calendar, just a little bit. I have worn jeans the last two days. I ate pumpkin bread this morning. I am planning on wearing a new sweater (albeit short sleeved) to church in the morning. Next weekend we are going to a pumpkin patch with a steam train, our favorite October activity.

What is your favorite Fall activity?

3. I love this quote.

“For most of life, nothing wonderful happens. If you don’t enjoy getting up and working and finishing your work and sitting down to a meal with family or friends, then the chances are that you’re not going to be very happy. If someone bases his happiness or unhappiness on major events like a great new job, huge amounts of money, a flawlessly happy marriage or a trip to Paris, that person isn’t going to be happy much of the time. If, on the other hand, happiness depends on a good breakfast, flowers in the yard, a drink or a nap, then we are more likely to live with quite a bit of happiness.” – Andy Rooney

I choose happiness. I choose happiness by delighting in all the little things about Fall (see # 2). I choose happiness when I snuggle with my boy and listen to him chatter about his latest crazy idea. I choose happiness when I go to Starbucks and catch up on my favorite blogs, browse Pinterest, and waste time on Facebook. I choose happy when get to spend time with a friend, when I find something totally awesome on clearance at Target, when I enjoy a delicious meal or an incredible dessert. If I waited for the big things I would be miserable, but instead I “live with quite a bit of happiness”

What makes you happy?

4. This morning I went to a Fostering & Adoption 101 workshop at my church, presented by City Without Orphans. It was an awesome morning; they presented great information, shared amazing stories and gave many people a jumping off point to decide what is right for them and their families. I am in no position to do either. Why would I go to this? Because it has always been in my heart. For a long time, in the back of my mind, I have thought that I would have a couple children of my own and then foster adopt a couple more. So I went to hear the information for myself, and also to know what the processes are so I can support those I know who are going through the process themselves, and as a nurse I feel like it is good to know what options and services are out there and how the system works.

Have ever considered fostering or adopting? I encourage you to pray about it, and don’t be afraid to seek out information. The need is great, and the rewards are eternal.

5. Christmas is coming. I know, I know, I just said Fall finally hit 2 days ago! I HATE that the stores already have Christmas decorations, right next to Halloween decorations. I like to enjoy my seasons one at a time. BUT shopping for the children in my life is done. (yes, yes, I know, you hate me.) But I jumped on some great deals at the JBF sale, and ordered a few things off Amazon. My budget is next to nothing this year, so I am trying to think ahead and get as much bang for my buck as possible. I started on my annual craft project (usually an ornament) for my family members this week. I wanted to get an early start while I have the time off from clinicals for the next few weeks. I don’t want to be cramming for finals and cramming for Christmas at the same time. I still want to come up with some special projects for gifts for my parents, and other in town family, but I have a little more time on those since they don’t have to be mailed.

Have you started thinking about Christmas yet?

6. I am restless.

Are you?

That is it for today. Next time I promise will be a more complete thought.

One thought on “Little Things

Leave a Reply

